Tennis Hall of Fame No Award Winner in 2022

The Tennis Hall of Fame did not elect anyone new for the first time in its history.

Ana Ivanovic, Flavia Pennetta, Carlos Moyá and Cara Black, all Grand Slam dating champions, were the new nominees for the Class of 2022, with Lisa Raymond and Juan Carlos Ferrero repeat.

Read also: Kyrgios tests positive for covid-19 ahead of Australian Open

None of the nominees reached the required 75% of the vote, which is combined by journalists, historians, Hall of Famers and experts from the tennis industry, in addition to a percentage of points awarded by a fan vote.

The six candidates will repeat in the 2023 vote. Fortunately, the aforementioned athletes can be considered for a maximum of three years.

The Hall of Fame will host an exaltation ceremony on June 16 for Lleyton Hewitt, the Australian who was elected in 2021 but was unable to attend last year's event due to COVID-19 travel restrictions.


Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Share on print

Sponsored links