Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeSoccerEuropeanFC Barcelona won the Joan Gamper Trophy by a landslide

FC Barcelona won the Joan Gamper Trophy by a landslide

The game also served as a tribute to the Brazilian Dani Alves

El FC Barcelona won the Joan Gamper Trophy, their traditional pre-season friendly tournament, by defeating the Pumas of Mexico 6-0 this Sunday at the Camp Nou.

Pedri signed a double (minutes 5 and 19) and the other Barça goals were achieved by the Pole Robert Lewandowski (3), the Frenchman Ousmane Dembelé (10), the Gabonese Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (49) and the Dutchman Frenkie De Jong ( 84).

Less than a week before the start of Barça in the Spanish League 2022-2023, the new signings of the Catalan club gave a good image to the fans.

Lewandowski led the way with his goal, scoring from a very small angle, and then provided the assist for Pedri's second goal. The Pole, greeted with cheers, was chosen as the best player of the match.

This match also served for the debut with his new colors of the French player Jules Koundé, recently signed to Sevilla and who entered the game in the 61st minute, instead of Ronald Araújo.

Central defender Andreas Christensen, another of Barça's novelties for the new season, did not participate in the match due to cervical pain.

Read also: Haaland debuts with a double in the Premier

The match also served as Barcelona's tribute to its former Brazilian player Dani Alves (39 years old), who recently joined the Pumas.

Before the game there were gifts to Alves in memory of his more than 400 games with the Barcelona shirt, with whom he played in two stages (2008-2016 and 2021-2022), winning in that entity six Spanish Leagues, three European Champions Leagues and four Copas del Rey, among other successes.

Xavi gave the initial kick

Before the game, the squad for the new season was presented and coach Xavi Hernández addressed the spectators from the pitch.

“We started a very exciting year. We want to win titles this season to be able to make the Catalans happy. We'll work our asses off," she promised.

The Joan Gamper Trophy has been organized by Barcelona since 1966. In its 57 editions, Barça has been champion in 44, including the last ten.

The last time Barça did not win their pre-season trophy was in 2012, when they lost 1-0 to Italian side Sampdoria.


Leave a comment

Lastest news